Disable Users

Staff must be added as users in order to use Casebook. If an employee no longer works for an organization for any period of time, they can be disabled as users. In special circumstances, you can delete a user altogether.

Disabling Users

  1. In cb Admin, click “Users” under “Global.”
  2. Look for the applicable user on the list of names on the first page.
  3. If you don’t see the applicable user on the first page, scroll down to the words, “Rows per page” and click the arrow to go to the next page until you find the applicable user.
  4. Click  disable next to the applicable user’s name.
  5. In the pop-up window that opens, click “Disable user.”
    • Alternatively, click “Cancel” if you change your mine.
  6. The user’s status will appear as “Disabled.”

Re-Enabling Users

  1. In cb Admin, click “Users” under “Global.”
  2. Look for the applicable user on the list of names on the first page.
  3. If you don’t see the applicable user on the first page, scroll down to the words, “Rows per page” and click the arrow to go to the next page until you find the applicable user.
  4. Click  re-enable next to the applicable user’s name.
  5. In the pop-up window that opens, click “Re-enable user.”
    • Alternatively, click “Cancel” if you change your mine.
  6. The user’s status will appear as “Active.”

Caution. If you delete a user, you will lose all of the data they input into Casebook. It is recommended to disable users to restrict their access. 

Deleting Users

  1. In cb Admin, click “Users” under “Global.”
  2. Look for the applicable user on the list of names on the first page.
  3. If you don’t see the applicable user on the first page, scroll down to the words, “Rows per page” and click the arrow to go to the next page until you find the applicable user.
  4. Click  delete next to the applicable user’s name.
  5. In the pop-up window that opens, click “Delete.”
    • Alternatively, click “Cancel” if you change your mind.

Best Practices

There are two best case scenarios for deleting users:

    • If the user was almost hired but did not officially join your organization.
    • If the administrator added the user by accident.

Sample scenarios for reenabling users instead of deleting them 

  • If a user goes on medical leave or takes a sabbatical, disable them when they leave and re-enable them when they return.
  • If a user leaves the company permanently, disable them rather than deleting them so you can keep records of their work activities. This also allows you to re-enable them if they ever come back.

Note: Only administrators can delete, disable, and re-enable users.